A Tirthankara is a saviour and spiritual teacher of the dharma. The word tirthankara signifies the founder of a tirtha, which is a fordable passage across the sea of interminable births and deaths,the samasra. There are 24 Tirthankaras in Jainism, they are-

1. Rishabhadev 2. Ajitanathaji 3. Sambhavanathaji 4. Abhinandanathaji 5. Sumatinathaji 6. Padmaprabhaji 7. Suparshvanathaji 8. Chandraprabhaji 9. Pushpadantaji 10.Shitalanathaji 11. Shreyansanathaji 12. Vasupujya Swami 13. Vimalanathaji 14. Anantanathaji 15. Dharmanthaji 16. Shantinathaji 17. Kunthunathaji 18. Aranathaji 19. Mallinathaji 20. Munisuvrata Swami 21. Naminathaji 22. Neminathji 23. Prashva Prabhuji 24. Mahavir Swami

List of Jain Tirthankaras

A Tirthankara is defined as a founder of a Tirtha. He achieves the enlightenment and helps others to achieve the same. A Tirthankara is believed to achieve Moksha or liberation at the end of his life.

Jainism is an ancient Indian religion that teaches the spiritual purity and enlightenment through disciplined nonviolence to all living creatures. The aim of Jain life is to achieve liberation of the soul.

Who is a Tirthankara?

Tirthankara’s are the saviour and spiritual teacher of the Jain dharma. ‘Tirthankara’ in Sanskrit means "Ford-maker" and also known as Jina that is "Victor". According to Jain scripture, a Tirthankara is a rare individual who has conquered the samsara, the cycle of death and rebirth, on their own and made a path for others to follow.

They are also called Arihantas, Jinas, Kevalis, and Vitrage. Arihant means "destroyer of inner enemies," Jina means "victor of inner enemies," and vitrage means "one who does not have any more attachment or hatred towards anyone." This means that they are totally detached from worldly aspects. They have destroyed the four Ghatiya karmas, namely Jnanavarniya Karma, Darshanavarniya Karma, Mohniya Karma, and Antaraya Karma.