EARLY PHASE (1758 AD–1812 AD) 

  • Calcutta (Kolkata) and Madras (Chennai) Universities were established by Warren Hastings in 1781 AD for the study of the Muslim law. 
  •  Sanskrit College was established by Jonathan Duncan at Benares in 1791 AD for the study of Hindu law and philosophy. • Fort William College was established by Wellesley in 1800 AD. SECOND PHASE • 
  • The greatest importance of the 1813 Act was that for the first time, the company acknowledged the state responsibility for the promotion of education in India.
  •  Establishment of Calcutta College in 1817 AD with the efforts of Raja Ram Mohan Roy for imparting Western education.
  •   Blethune School was founded by J.E.D. Bethune at Kolkata (1849 AD). 

  • • In 1854 AD, Charles Wood prepared a dispatch on an Educational System for India, which came to be called the Magna Carta of education in the country. 
  • • In 1882 AD, Lord Ripon appointed the Hunter Commission under Sir W.W. Hunter. 
  • Commission’s views were restricted to primary and secondary education. 
  • The Punjab (1882) and Allahabad (1887) universities were established.

 FOURTH PHASE (1901 AD–1920 AD) 


  • Lord Curzon appointed University Commission under Sir Thomas Rayleigh. Based on his report, Indian Universities Act was passed in 1904 AD. SERGEANT PLAN, 1944 AD
  •  The Sergeant Plan, worked out by the Central Advisory Board of Education in 1944 AD, called for elementary and higher secondary schools, universal, free and compulsory education for children in the 6–11 age-group and a six-year school course for the 11–17 age‑group.